top of page
  • Writer's picturePagesandScreens

The Boat That Rocked Review


Date: 2009


Director: Richard Curtis


Actors/ Characters: Philip Seymour Hoffman/ The Count, Tom Sturridge/ Carl, Bill Nighy/ Quentin, Nick Frost/ Dave, Chris O'Dowd/ Simon, Tom Brook/ Thick Kevin


Synopsis: A band of rogue DJs that captivated Britain playing music that defined a generation and standing up to a government that didn't want them to be heard.


Review

One of the more recent films by director Richard Curtis this film exhibits the musical revolution of the 1960s and portrays the change in a generation. Upbeat and fun filled from the very opening Curtis' use of handheld and fast paced shots places audience straight into the action allowing you to really experience the action packed and exciting lives of the extravagant and boisterous radio DJs residing on the ship that is home to the widely popular 'Radio Rock'. This feeling of constant excitement was prominent throughout the film and was successfully maintained by the brilliant acting ensemble cast.


The actors in the film stood out as an attribute to the film for me in particular. The ensemble of famous names like Philip Seymour Hoffman, Bill Nighy and Nick Frost suggest the comedic and crude scenes that ensue during the film, personally I found the humour to be more masculine aimed which was a fault in the film for me.  Although, saying that I did feel that the boyish humour worked successfully in portraying the rebellious characters on the radio boat. Moreover the film's cast worked excellently off one another ensuing comedic timing was perfect and the energy created by them was action packed from start to finish.


Curtis captured the riotous time of the sixties brilliantly, the costumes and set design were excellently in keeping with the time. The cross cutting between the radio station and its listeners highlighted the relevance of music during the time and how it helped to shape and change a generation, these scenes in particular I found very touching and significant.


For me though I found that the film dragged slightly although the comedy was , in times, effective I felt that the standard of humour was inconsistence throughout and personally the script did not amuse me as much as other Curtis films have done thus leaving me disappointed and deeming this film as inferior to Curtis' other works. Furthermore I did not have a great emotional attachment to the characters of the film due to the clear lack of morals and juvenile behaviours throughout the film. Although I still disliked the antagonistic government officials of the film who sought to destroy pirate radio, I did not have as much respect and sympathy toward the radio DJs as I felt I should have done. 


Of course an obvious positive of the film would be the score and soundtrack. Due to the rock and roll theme of the film popular rock and roll tracks during the 60s were used throughout to progress the story and aided the comedy and action, I felt this element was a particular attribute to the product and I really enjoyed the selection of songs used.


Even though the end of the film was predictable for a comedy- and slightly corny,  I still enjoyed the film's resolution. When the crew of Radio Rock were rescued from impending death by drowning by their adorning fans a sense of catharsis and elation was evoked in me and I couldn't help but smile alongside the characters. As expected in a Curtis film I was content with the ending- a feeling I often look for in a film.


Rating: 6/10

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page