top of page
  • Writer's picturePagesandScreens

Why you should watch Firefly


Date: 2002-2003


Creator: Joss Whedon


Actors/ Characters: Nathan Fillion/ Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds, Gina Torres/ Zoë Washburne, Alan Tudyk/ Hoban 'Wash' Washburne, Morena Baccarin/ Inara Serra, Adam Baldwin/ Jayne Cobb, Jewel Staite/ Kaylee Frye, Sean Maher/ Dr. Simon Tam, Summer Glau/ River Tam, Ron Glass/ Shepherd Derrial Book


Summary: Five hundred years in the future, a renegade crew aboard a small spacecraft tries to survive as they travel the unknown parts of the galaxy and evade warring factions as well as authority agents out to get them.


1. Sci- fi Tropes


This show is just so conventionally sci-fi, from spaceships to interplanetary wars. I haven't seen a show that so perfectly encapsulates the sci-fi genre before and sci-fi is definitely one of my favourite genres so I love this about Firefly.


2. Authenticity of the Show


You're probably wondering what I mean by authenticity, well by this I mean the feel of the show is extremely feasible and tangible. Due to the low budget nature of the show and the fact it came out in 2002 when CGI hadn't fully taken over film and television the show has this classic feel and was reminiscent of the original Star Wars trilogy to me so I love the authentic feel of this show.


3. The ensemble of characters

Where do I even start with this section, all the characters in this show are so lovable and the array of characters we see is so ragtag. Captain Mal Reynolds is the classic suave and cocky ship's captain (a character type that I bloody adore) and watching him grow through the show is fantastic. I love Kalley so much she was probably my favourite character, she looks like butter wouldn't melt and she's just a little sunbeam who can do no wrong in my eyes. Also, I want to talk about how amazing Wash and Zoe are, their marriage is just amazing to witness they are such a good on screen couple. I think what I love about 'crew ensembles' is the ragtag nature of them and how all these different types of characters are pulled together through different situations.


4. Serenity

Serenity is the name of the ship in the show and I'm a sucker for crew ensembles and with that shows or films that have a vessel in which the crew travel on. The Serenity is like the Tardis or The Black Pearl and it becomes iconic to Firefly. The Serenity has got to be my favourite location of the show.


5. Great World Building


The world building of this show is also phenomenal. Sci-fi worlds that include an array of different planets and places are really difficult to make feel real and believable to the audience but somehow Firefly manages to do it.



Basically if you haven't seen Firefly you really should!


Rating: 8/10

7 views0 comments
bottom of page